News Flash Home
The original item was published from 11/10/2020 1:13:00 PM to 1/31/2021 12:00:01 AM.

News Flash

Community Updates

Posted on: November 9, 2020

[ARCHIVED] Additional Restrictions for DuPage County Begin Wednesday


Due to a continued increase in COVID-19 positivity rates and hospitalizations in our area, the Governor’s Office announced that Tier 2 level restrictions will begin at 12:01 a.m. Wednesday, Nov. 11 for DuPage, Kane, Will and Kankakee counties. These restrictions are in addition to the Tier 1 restrictions already in place. Tier 2 restrictions are being implemented due to a test positivity rate above 8% in our region after more than 14 days of Tier 1 mitigations in place.

New changes under Tier 2 mitigations efforts include:

  • Restaurants/bars:
    • Maximum party size of 6 people (reduced from 10 people)
  • Meetings/social events and gatherings:
    • Maximum indoor or outdoor gathering size of 10 people (reduced from 25 guests/25% capacity).
    • This applies to professional, cultural and social group gatherings.
  • Organized group and recreational activities:
    • Limited to the lesser of 25 guests or 25% overall room capacity both indoors & outdoors
    • Groups limited to 10 or fewer people
    • Does not apply to fitness centers

These changes do not apply to schools, and the state provides separate guidance for sports

Tier 1 restrictions remain in place, including no indoor dining/bar service, requiring tables to be 6 feet or more apart, requiring reservations for restaurants offering outdoor dining, and more. 

For more information, please see the state’s Tier 2 Resurgence Mitigations

The City of Wheaton encourages every resident to do your part to reduce the spread of COVID-19 in our community by remembering the 3 W’s when in the presence of people outside your household:

  • Wear a mask.
  • Watch your distance.
  • Wash your hands frequently. 

For more resources about COVID-19, visit the Illinois Department of Public Health website.

Facebook Twitter Email