Home › Residents

Senior Citizens

The City of Wheaton and other local agencies offer a number of services especially for Wheaton senior citizens, including:

Ride DuPage Transportation Program & RTA Senior Ride Free Permit

Wheaton seniors 65 and older and those with disabilities can receive subsidized curb-to-curb transportation service from their home to any location within DuPage County through the Ride DuPage program.

Qualified seniors age 65 and older can ride free on CTA, Metra and Pace fixed route bus and rail services. To receive free fares, seniors must apply for an RTA Senior Ride Free Permit. Find out more about these programs and how to apply.

Wheaton Housing Assistance Program

Wheaton seniors 65 and older could receive financial assistance to help defray housing costs through the Wheaton Housing Assistance Program. Find out more about this program and how to apply.

Senior Meals Program

The DuPage Senior Citizens Council coordinates volunteers to help package and deliver freshly prepared meals each weekday to homebound seniors who are unable to shop or cook for themselves. A donation toward the cost of the meals is requested. For more information, please call DuPage Senior Citizens Council at 630-620-0804.

Wheaton Park District Mary Lubko Center

The Wheaton Park District’s Mary Lubko Center, located at 208 W. Union Ave. in Memorial Park, offers activities and other senior services for Wheaton residents. To find out more about the Mary Lubko Center please call 630-665-1415 or visit the Wheaton Park District’s website.

DuPage County Programs and Services

DuPage County offers additional services for seniors including real estate tax deferrals, Homestead exemptions, home delivered meals and more. For more information please call 630-407-6500 or visit DuPage County website.

Illinois Department on Aging

The Illinois Department on Aging provides programs to seniors including adult day care, senior companion, senior centers, meals, transportation and more. For more information please visit Illinois Department on Aging.