Voting Information

If you are at least 18 years old, a U.S. citizen, and a resident of Wheaton, you can register to vote in local, county, state and federal elections.

Wheaton residents vote to elect seven members of a non-partisan City Council, which includes six City Council representatives and the mayor. Four City Council members represent Wheaton’s four Election Districts, and two At-Large City Council members represent all of Wheaton.

Voter Registration & Absentee Ballots

The City of Wheaton’s Finance Department offers voter registration services for new DuPage County residents and for registered voters who need to change their name or address.

To Register

Bring two forms of identification - one of which must have the current name and address - to the Finance Department counter on the first floor of Wheaton City Hall, 303 W Wesley St.

Registration is offered from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

All applicants must know their Social Security number and provide at least the last four digits. Naturalized citizens need to know their date and place of naturalization.

Residents must register at least 28 days before an election to be able to vote in it. For more information, call the DuPage County Election Commission at 630-407-5600 or visit the DuPage County Election Commission website.

Absentee Ballots

Registered DuPage County voters who expect to be absent from the county on Election Day can vote using an absentee ballot. Wheaton residents can pick up a mail-in application for an absentee ballot form beginning about 30 days before an election. Voters also can receive an absentee ballot application from the DuPage County Election Commission. For more information about absentee voting, see the DuPage County Election Commission website.

Check Your Registration Status & Polling Place

To see if you are already registered or to check your registration information, visit the DuPage County Election Commission website. This is also where you can find the site of your polling place.

Wheaton Election Districts

Wheaton residents live in one of four election districts: North, South, East or West. Each district elects one member to the City Council to represent their portion of the city. To see which election district you live in, see the Wheaton Election Districts map (PDF).

City Election District Information: Ordinance No. O-2022-46 (PDF)

Upcoming Elections

For information on upcoming elections, see the DuPage Election Commission’s website.