Home › Government


The City of Wheaton operates under the Council-Manager form of government and is a Home Rule community, which gives the City Council a broad range of authority over local affairs.

Wheaton voters elect the City Council's 6 representatives and the City's mayor. Four Council members represent Wheaton’s four voting districts, while two members and the mayor are elected at-large.